CIWM (WAMITAB) Training Q&A’s

What is a CIWM (WAMITAB) Certificate and why do I need one?

A CIWM (WAMITAB) certificate is achieved following the successful completion of Level 4 Primary Competency qualification in an area specific to your site activities. (eg: Transfer, Treatment, Landfill, End of Life, Recycling). It can also still be referred to as a CoTC – Certificate of Technical Competence.

Every waste management or recycling facility must have at least one nominated member of staff to hold a CIWM (WAMITAB) certificate who works on-site for at least 20% of the time. The CIWM (WAMITAB) certificate demonstrates that a level of knowledge and skills have been achieved and demonstrated.

How do l achieve my CIWM (WAMITAB) qualification?

Depending on the risk level of your qualification you will need to achieve a number of units:

  • High Risk – 12 Unit Qualification
  • Medium Risk – 6 Unit Qualification
  • Low Risk – 4 Unit Qualification
  • 2nd Low, Medium, High – Between 2 – 6 Units.
    For a 2nd qualification due to a change in site activities, you only need to achieve top up units. Others are transferable.

Your qualification is achieved by building a portfolio of evidence against the units which make up the risk level of the qualification. This is done by various activities covered on your first induction visit with the Assessor:

  • Face-to-face on-site visits with your Assessor
  • Remote contact via email, telecom with your Assessor
  • Collection of hard paper evidence, photographs, and video where appropriate
  • Answering underpinning knowledge questions
  • Being observed by the Assessor in the workplace
  • The undertaking of professional discussions with your Assessor

How long will it take to complete my CIWM (WAMITAB)?

The time it takes to complete depends on the time and effort you put into building your portfolio of evidence in between Assessor visits.

When you have undertaken the activities associated with each unit your Assessor will assess the unit and feedback on whether it meets the requirements or if there are any shortfalls and guide you. When all units have been successfully assessed by the assessor your portfolio will be submitted to an Internal Verifier for final approval.

NOTE: CIWM (WAMITAB) registrations only have a 2-year life span so you must complete in this time frame. After 2 years, you will be required to pay to be re-registered with CIWM (WAMITAB).

What is the Internal Verifiers job?

The Internal Verifier or IQA as they are known are responsible for sampling work to monitor the assessment decision made by the Assessor, ensure consistent and reliable assessment judgements are made across a training provider; highlight any problems, trends, and development needs of assessors; ensure all procedures and policies within a provider are adhered to and maintained by staff.

How long will my CIWM (WAMITAB) Certificate/Award last?

Technically, in England and Wales, your certificate/award will never expire.  However, if you are using your certificate to act as a Technically Competent person on a site activity for which it covers, you must renew your competency every 2 years by undertaking the Continuing Competency Test and passing.

What is the Continuing Competency Test?

The Continuing Competency Test is an online test that is taken by those who are using their CIWM (WAMITAB) certificate to act as the site competent person.

The test must be taken every 2 years, in line with the date shown on the WAMTAB certificate if it is the first test being taken, or if a test has been taken 2 years prior, 2 years from the date shown on this certificate.

Tests are booked online through the CIWM (WAMITAB) website. Testing locations are run by Pearson VUE and there are many locations UK wide.